Winter Coulées

by Julie Deimert

I love to walk the coulées on a bright winter day and can almost feel my vitamin D stores replenishing! For Henry, it’s all about the smells…and birds. All this — just 5 minutes from home.

IMG_2047

And without the heat of summer,  I swear Henry gets twice the exercise on our winter walks, often running to the next ridge and back multiple times as we do our loop. (I get perhaps 1.5 my summer workout considering the extra 20 pounds of winter wear! Although, if the hills are icy, I clip Henry back on the leash and let him pull me up!)

IMG_2041

Even at noon, the winter sun is low, the coulées cast in shadows.

IMG_2053

Winter Coulées

Leave a Reply

